Indecency with a Child
Facing Charges of Indecency with a Child?
Allegations of indecency with a child can have serious consequences. According to Texas law, Indecency with a child is when a person engages in any sexual conduct with a child that is 17 years of age or younger. This offense can involve the following:
- Sexual contact – occurs when an adult engages in physical contact with a child that is sexual in nature.
- By exposure – exposing certain parts of the person’s body or the child’s body with the intent to satisfy the sexual desires of a person.
Penalties for Indecency With A Child In Texas differ depending if the defendant is charged with the offenses mentioned previously.
- If a person is found guilty of sexual contact with a child, they can face up to two to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
- If a person is found guilty of exposure to a child, they can face up to two to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
These penalties described above are possible sentences for someone without a criminal history. However, if a person has a previous felony charge or is already registered as a sex offender, they may face harsher penalties.
These types of cases are complex and complicated to defend. If charged with a sex crime, in most cases, you must prove your innocence to prosecutors, judges, juries, and the general public. Courts often gravitate towards the child’s word against the defendant despite the lack of physical evidence. Therefore, it’s crucial to hire an attorney as soon as possible. Getting legal protection is essential for the early stages of your case. Your livelihood could be at risk, and we want to help you.
Contact the Law Offices of John Kuntz if you’ve been charged with Indecency with a Child
We will answer all your questions and help defend your rights.
Schedule your free consultation today at (210) 881-7509.